

West Oxfordshire District Council membership of committees and sub-committees 2021 to 2022

Chairman of Council is Councillor Martin McBride, Vice-Chair is Councillor Alex Postan.

Cabinet membership and responsibilities

Michele Mead, Leader of the Council

Policy Framework; Corporate Plan; Executive functions; Regional and National Bodies; Oxfordshire Partnership Board; Oxfordshire Growth Board; Oxfordshire Local Enterprise Partnership; Oxfordshire Leaders; Publica and Ubico; Democratic Services; Communications.

David Harvey, Deputy Leader, Climate

Alternative energy; Biodiversity across the District; Carbon neutral by 2030; Fossil fuel dependence reduction; Local, national and county wide liaison on climate.

Suzi Coul, Finance

Economic development, Inward investment; Finance and Management; Council Tax and Benefits; Efficiency agenda; Performance management of the Council; Business development; Visitor economy; Asset management.

Jane Doughty, Customer Delivery

Parish and town liaison; Equality and diversity; Customer Services; ICT and services; Health and safety; Councillor development; Broadband; Sports and leisure facilities; Public art; Community Facilities Grants; Community Revenue Grants.

Merilyn Davies, Housing and Communities

Housing Allocations; Homelessness; provision of affordable homes; Sheltered housing accommodation; Safeguarding - Community Safety Partnership; Crime and Disorder; Neighbourhood Policing; Scrutiny of Police and Crime Commissioner; Voluntary sector engagement; Assets of Community Value; Community and public health; Healthy Communities.

Jeff Haine, Planning

Regional Spatial Strategy; Local Plan; Government planning policies and guidance; Conservation and Design; Design and Historic Environment; Landscape and Biodiversity; Strategic Housing; Development Management; Ensuring planning policies meet 2030 requirement.

Norman MacRae MBE, Environment

Car parking; Waste and recycling; Street Scene (Cleansing, Litter and Grounds Maintenance); Energy Advice; Flood Alleviation; Environmental and Regulatory; Environmental Partnership.

Committees and members by political group

Committee	Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrats	Non-grouped
Audit and general purposes committee	Jake Acock, Andrew Beaney, Rupert Dent, Colin Dingwall, Harry Eaglestone, Gill Hill, Martin McBride, Alex Postan (Chair), Harry St John, Alex Wilson	Joy Aitman, Luci Ashbourne, Duncan Enright	Julian Cooper, Dan Levy (Vice Chair), Elizabeth Poskitt	Richard Langridge
Miscellaneous Licensing sub- committee	Ted Fenton, Steve Good (Vice Chair), Norman MacRae (Chair)	Geoff Saul	David Jackson	
Standards sub- committee	Andrew Beaney (Vice Chair), Ted Fenton, Norman MacRae (Chair)	Andrew Coles	Elizabeth Poskitt	
Development Control Committee	Andrew Beaney, Maxine Crossland, Merilyn Davies, Harry Eaglestone, Ted Fenton (Vice Chair), Steve Good, Jeff Haine (Chair), Nick Leverton, Lysette Nicholls, Alex Postan, Harry St John, Dean Temple, Alex Wilson, Ben Woodruff	Joy Aitman, Rosa Bolger, Duncan Enright, Geoff Saul	Nathalie Chapple, Julian Cooper, David Jackson, Dan Levy, Carl Rylett	Richard Langridge
Lowlands area planning sub-committee	Maxine Crossland, Harry Eaglestone, Ted Fenton (Chair), Steve Good, Jeff Haine, Nick Leverton, Lysette Nicholls, Harry St John, Ben Woodruff	Joy Aitman (Vice Chair), Rosa Bolger, Duncan Enright	Dan Levy, Carl Rylett	Richard Langridge

Committee	Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrats	Non-grouped
Uplands area planning sub-committee Includes Ex officio Non-Voting Member Vice Chairman of Development Control Committee, Ted Fenton	Andrew Beaney, Merilyn Davies, Ted Fenton (non- voting), Jeff Haine (Chair), Alex Postan, Dean Temple, Alex Wilson	Geoff Saul	Nathalie Chapple, Julian Cooper (Vice Chair), David Jackson	
Urgency Committee	Suzi Coul, Merilyn Davies, Jeff Haine, David Harvey (Vice Chair), Norman MacRae, Michele Mead (Chair)	Joy Aitman, Duncan Enright	Nathalie Chapple, Andy Graham	Richard Langridge
Economic and social overview and scrutiny committee	Jake Acock, Andrew Beaney (Chair), Jill Bull, Maxine Crossland, Mark Johnson, Nick Leverton, Lysette Nicholls, Alex Wilson	Laetisia Carter, Owen Collins	Andy Graham (Vice Chair), Mathew Parkinson, Elizabeth Poskitt	Andrew Prosser
Finance and Management overview and scrutiny committee	Alaa Al-Yousuf, Derek Cotterill (Chair), Rupert Dent, Harry Eaglestone, Steve Good, Gill Hill, Alex Postan, Harry St John	Rosa Bolger, Geoff Saul (Vice Chair)	Julian Cooper, Dan Levy, Mathew Parkinson	Andrew Prosser
Environment overview and scrutiny committee	Alaa Al-Yousuf (Chair), Rupert Dent, Harry Eaglestone, Ted Fenton, Martin McBride, Alex Postan, Harry St John, Ben Woodruff	Andrew Coles (Vice Chair), Owen Collins	Andy Goodwin, Liz Leffman, Carl Rylett	Mike Cahill
Licensing committee	Harry Eaglestone, Ted Fenton, Steve Good (Vice Chair), Norman MacRae (Chair), Lysette Nicholls, Alex Postan	Owen Collins, Geoff Saul	Andy Graham, David Jackson	Mike Cahill