Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. About the Council
  3. Executive roles and responsibilities

West Oxfordshire Executive 2023

West Oxfordshire Cabinet May 2022

Role of an Executive member

Executive members are responsible for:

  • leading on developing council policy and make recommendations to the Executive
  • providing guidance to the Executive on developments within the portfolio
  • giving guidance to the Executive on budget priorities
  • monitoring performance and make sure policy is delivered
  • leading on improving council services
  • making sure that activities meet the council's overall vision, core values and guiding principles
  • contributing to debate and decision-making
  • working with councillors who are not members of the Executive, members of the opposition and officers to make sure that the overview and scrutiny process works correctly
  • appearing before and responding to overview and scrutiny committee reports
  • representing the council at a national and local level

Each Executive member is the spokesperson for the policy area or 'portfolio' they are responsible for.

Andy Graham - Leader of the Council

Cllr Andy Graham

His portfolio responsibilities are:

  • Policy Framework
  • Corporate Plan
  • Executive functions
  • Regional and National Bodies
  • Oxfordshire Partnership Board
  • Oxfordshire Growth Board
  • Oxfordshire Local Enterprise Partnership
  • Oxfordshire Leaders
  • Publica and Ubico
  • Democratic Services
  • Communications
  • Legal Services
  • Counter Fraud
  • Emergency Planning

Duncan Enright - Deputy Leader & Economic Development

Cllr Duncan Enright

His portfolio responsibilities are:

  • Economic Development
  • Inward investment
  • Business Development
  • Visitor Economy
  • Town and Village regeneration

Dan Levy - Finance

Cllr Dan Levy

His portfolio responsibilities are:

  • Finance and management
  • Council Tax and benefits
  • Efficiency agenda
  • Performance management of the Council
  • Asset management
  • Investment strategy
  • South West Audit Partnership

Carl Rylett - Planning & Sustainable Development

Cllr Carl Rylett

His portfolio responsibilities are:

  • Oxfordshire Plan 2050
  • Local Plan
  • Government planning policies and guidance
  • Conservation and design
  • Design and Historic Environment
  • Landscape and Biodiversity
  • Strategic Housing
  • Development Management
  • Ensuring planning policies meet 2030 requirement

Mathew Parkinson - Customer Delivery

Cllr Mathew Parkinson

His portfolio responsibilities are:

  • Parish and town empowerment
  • Equality and diversity
  • Customer Services
  • ICT and services
  • Councillor development
  • Broadband

Joy Aitman - Stronger Healthy Communities

Cllr Joy Aitman

Her portfolio responsibilities are:

  • Community
  • Community Revenue Grants
  • Voluntary sector engagement
  • Sports and leisure facilities
  • Health and safety
  • Public art
  • Facilities Grants
  • Community and public health
  • Healthy Communities
  • Accountable Member for Refugee Resettlement Programme
  • Young people

Geoff Saul - Housing & Social Welfare

Councillor Geoff Saul

His portfolio responsibilities are:

  • Housing Allocations
  • Homelessness
  • Provision of affordable homes
  • Sheltered housing accommodation
  • Safeguarding - Community Safety Partnership
  • Crime and Disorder
  • Neighbourhood Policing
  • Scrutiny of Police and Crime Commissioner
  • Assets of Community Value

Lidia Arciszewska - Environment

Cllr Lidia Arciszewska

Her portfolio responsibilities are:

  • Energy advice
  • Flood alleviation and sewage
  • Environmental and regulatory
  • Environmental partnership
  • Waste collection and recycling
  • Street Scene (cleansing, litter and grounds maintenance)
  • Car parking
  • Air quality
  • Land, food, farming

Andrew Prosser - Climate Change

Councillor Andrew Prosser

His portfolio responsibilities are:

  • Renewable energy and retrofit investment
  • Biodiversity across the District
  • Carbon neutral by 2030
  • Fossil fuel dependence reduction
  • Local, national and county wide liaison on climate
  • Internal liaison on Climate Change
  • EV Charging Rollout